Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners
Old 03-30-2016, 02:01 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:Browse all: Toyota Tacoma Engine Guides
Print Wikipost

How to: Change Drive Belts 3.4 L 5VZ-FE

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2010, 08:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How to: Change Drive Belts 3.4 L 5VZ-FE (Video & Explaination with Pics)

This thread aims at explaining through photographs and a video of how to change the drive belts on the 3.4 L 5VZ-FE engine. It is easy and I did it with the help of my brother in about 45 minutes. Although I did not replace mine when I took these photos, they should be sufficient to explain how to do it. I will explain in words and you can click on the link to see my video. I have done this 3 times. I am not a master mechanic but I have done some pretty labor intensive repairs including transmissions and timing belts.

Tools you will need:
1) 10 mm, 14 mm and 12 mm wrenches or Gear Wrenches - you don't have to have the geared ones but they are a great help
2) Ratchet and 10 mm, 12 mm and 14 mm sockets with a 3" extension
3) Belts (obviously) Gates or Mitsumi (Toyota Belts) are the best.
4) Coolant (Optional and you will see why)

First I removed the skid plate(s). Since mine is an 02' Sport I had 2 of them. I know that the older models only have one. There are 5 12 mm bolts in the front and if you have the rear, there are 4 12 mm bolts. Next I only loosened the 3 belts:

1) Alternator - I like to undo the alternator belt from the top and below. You can do it from the top but you can't see the adjustment bolt at all underneath. From the top it looks like this:

You loosen the bolt circled in red. It is a 14 mm and allows the alternator to swivel. Now from below (looking up):

Name:  0051.jpg
Views: 32992
Size:  84.7 KB