Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Found a Scooped Hood on CL, what next?

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2010, 06:00 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Just wanted to add something here if you're still on the fence about flat black or the Herculiner/Durabak options. We had a massive hail storm locally last month and unfortunately my 4runner got pounded in the 30 seconds it took me to pull off the street and into the garage. Well, I work for a PDR company so it's no big deal, but I was out comparing the hood paint job with the OEM paint on the fenders and I've got to say that I'm not impressed. I've been doing minor bodywork for about 5 years now and just graduated from an automotive collision program so I'm pretty picky but realistic about what can be done. I will say the color match is great, the clear coat is yellowing though, but there is almost no orange peel to match the factory peel and it almost looks powdery like the solvents moved to the top a little as it cured out and it's really not a very good clear coating job. So, long story short, I may take my own advice and go flat black or bedliner product. I have the lighter desert dune (tan/silver) color so the effect of a dark hood against a light body color would be similar to yours.

I don't know if you saw my hood scoop thread (sticky) but there is a picture of my 4runner with the hood on but unpainted in the factory black coating and I honestly thought about leaving it flat black, but had a hook up discount on the paint and opted for that, which I feel was a mistake looking back. Here is the pic I was talking about: