Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Catalytic Converter/California Computers/Clarification Please!

Old 03-06-2011, 11:31 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Catalytic Converter/California Computers/Clarification Please!

Newbie here, first posting. I've searched pretty extensively and haven't been able to find answers to all my questions so hopefully somebody can help me out. Here's the rundown, with specific questions after the info. I have an '02 Tacoma SR5 extra cab, 4WD, 5spd, 2.7L, 120,000 miles. I live in Portland, OR First time CEL ever came on was as I was driving out of emissions testing station last year, after passing the test. Went on and off a few times than remained on. Checked the code, it was P0420. There's plenty of info on that, which I've read. Decided to leave it alone since truck still ran fine and I had my emissions tags already. Now I'm up for renewal of emissions and need to fix the problem. Went to a Toyota specialty mechanic to have my IAC unit replaced and asked him to look at the code issue. He didn't diagnose the cats or the sensors, but said that based on the code, the year, etc. he was 99% sure the cats were bad and both would need replacing, $2400 was the quote, he wouldn't use non-OEM parts and strongly discouraged doing so. The truck has 2 catalytic converters. Gulp! I believe him that the OEM parts are better and will last longer, I question whether the entire system needs replacing. 1. I am confused as to whether or not the '02 trucks differ in their emissions controls depending on whether they were a California truck or not. I bought mine on the east coast, where it lived most of its life but it was used and could have possibly originated in California, I'm not sure. Some folks have said that the California trucks have 2 cats and a different computer than the other49 trucks which only have 1 cat. Other people have said all of the '02 trucks are the same, have the same computers and 2 ca