Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Bypass the OE tranny cooler?

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2008, 10:40 AM
Contributing Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Originally Posted by 97ltd4x4
Yes,I used to be a Toyota master tech,as well as Lexus Pro...But,I have no idea about the newer stuff,I hung up my wrenches about 6yrs ago(still do some work on the side)..I know for sure the landcruisers back to 84'ish.. all the way up to the 97's maybe still on the newer ones after 97',I can't remember...they only had an external trans cooler,nothing in radiator..I also remember all the auto MR2's auto,just had an externat cooler,no radiator cooler..I guess because of mid engine,sending fluid all the way up front,then back was too ineffeciant.
Thanks, that's good to know. Did they use a cooler with some kind of bypass for cold ATF?
Old 12-16-2008, 11:26 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
That I am not sure of,Usually if there was a trans temp light issue,they wanted to check to make sure fluid could flow,ie cooler not clogged,also no debris in fins causing cooling problems,along with the usuall fluid overfilled..There was never a concern that the fluid would get too cold as I can recall,in any service manual/suppliment TSB procedure.I do remember seeing some of the coolers branded as Toyota/Hayden...

It is possible they used bypass trans. coolers on the cold weather spec landcruisers in canada and ROW vehicals,they would also get block and battery heaters,and dual batteries on the diesels..also sprayers for the front headlights(kinda neat).
Old 12-16-2008, 12:43 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts