Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Am I Crazy?

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2004, 02:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Am I Crazy? --22RE rebuild Qs

First off I just want to say hello, this is my first post on this site.
So here's the deal: I would really like to rebuild my 22re. I mainly want to do it so I can get inside and see what is going on in my engine. I don't know what everything is called and I don't know what parts of my engine are stock and what isn't. I figure this would be a great way to learn. I have never done this before. The most I have ever done besides changing my oil on my truck is putting a new starter in. I consider myself mechanically inclined and a quick learner. I was planning on ordering the 220 dollar rebuild kit from engnbldr.com. There is a possibility that the previous owner could have bored it out so I was going to wait till I have it all opened up to get the measurements I need to give to engnbldr. I know that the previous owner did not change the oil very often...I had it serviced awhile ago and they told me there is a lot of gunky build up inside. I've been changing the oil every 1000 miles to try and clear it out (as I was told to do by the mechanic). So I'd really like to get in there and give everything a good scrubbing (and maybe some paint?).
So here are my questions: What tools am I likely going to need besides sockets? What other costs should I expect other than the rebuild kit? I was considering putting in a higher performance camshaft while I'm in there. Is it worth it? Are these good camshafts from engnbldr:
270 Camshaft @ ..........$89.00
261C Cam @ ................$89.00
What is the difference between the two?
I have been looking around for answers to these questions but can't seem to find a good writeup on a 22re rebuild. I will probably think of some more questions later. Thanks for any advice you guys can give me. And by the way :