86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

karlm-c's 1986 2WD Pickup Build-Up Thread

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2016, 05:10 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
karlm-c's 1986 2WD Pickup Build-Up Thread

hello!

So on Feb 8th I bought a 1986 2WD manual pickup for $1,400 and entered the wonderful world of old Toyota trucks. I have been riding and working on my 1999 KLR 650 since 2011, that being my only real experience with mechanics.

I started off with thinking I would start, from what a few of you said on here, from the bottom and work my way up. Since the frame looked really good (from what I saw initially) and it ran really nicely, I started on the front suspension. The front suspension was bad, the worst rust on the whole truck.
here's the truck first day I drove her home, with totally rotten front tires

engine looked good, frame looked good, it started and ran, I bought it!

so I pulled it into the shed I had just finished building and started tearing the front end apart. I pulled both wheels off and brought them to get some winter tires my sister gave me for free mounted. behind them, I saw rust, lots of rust on everything suspension and steering related, but the frame still looked good.

everything was rusty, so I figured I would remove all of it

I learn and operate much better when I just go full on into it, so after a bit trying to study my new Haynes manual I just started pulling things apart. hub and knuckle, ball joints, torsion bar, control arms. That turned into tie rods, and eventually everything, steering gear, center link, idler arm, the works.

found some holes, so at thing point I started ordering parts like it was my job!

the more I took apart, the more I realized I needed to just get new parts. I ordered control arms, shocks, ball joints, pretty much everything but hub and knuckle.