Tires & Wheels Anything about tires and wheels

Moving north, AT/MT tires?

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2008, 03:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I live just north of Edmonton Alberta Canada, and I ran some muds on my old ranger. They were awesome in the snow but crap on the ice.
I used to drive out onto the lake to load my sled up. snow was maybe 2 feet deep. Muds did awesome in that.

Anything to aggressive is crap on ice. Need something with lots of sipes for the ice. Big lugs suck

Last edited by EricBirk; 07-29-2008 at 03:07 PM.
Old 07-29-2008, 05:56 PM

I suggest checking out Firestone Destination ATs. I've had mine for about 10,000 miles and have been pleased so far. Very good in the wet and dry. I haven't had them in the snow, yet, but the reviews suggest they will do well. Plenty of siping. Definitely better than BFG ATs in the wet. I can't compare them to Revos as I have no experience with Revos.

You will likely find that you will be doing quite a bit of winter time driving on damp or plowed streets, or even dry highways. For that reason, I'm going to suggest that a M/T is not a good way to go. If it was straight up snow, the M/T recommendation may be OK, but you'll need tires for a variety of conditions.

Probably the best is to have a set of dedicated snow tires and then a set of wheels that you swap on in the spring.

MadCityRich
Old 07-30-2008, 07:59 AM