Tires & Wheels Anything about tires and wheels

Moving north, AT/MT tires?

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2008, 12:31 PM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Moving north, AT/MT tires?

I'm headed north so the truck will be doing a lot more driving in the snow. I'm moving to NYC but the truck is going to be kept at my aunt's place an hour outside the city in a SMALL town and plowing is minimal and she has a ton of land so I want to be able to get around and snow is going to be a pretty big priority. I have some experience in the snow but not much and my trusty REVOs only left me stuck once (driver error and I bottomed out). I am selling my TSLs and getting some new tires that are more road friendly. What do you guys think? I was wondering which way to jump.

Next is what tires... I was thinking of getting another set of REVOs b/c of their amazing on-road/snow traction, but I have been hearing good things about the NITTO Terra Grapplers too... Right now I have two sets of 15" wheels so if there are some good ATs that I have overlooked that sell 33s for a 15" wheel please let me know. I can't seem to find any so I'm looking for some Factory 5Star 16s which I don't mind getting but if I can save a few hundred I'd rather put that towards getting the truck ready for DD use. Anyway, thanks for the help!
Old 07-22-2008, 12:45 PM

I've also had REVO's and had excellent results with them. Very nice on and off road tires. And snow traction was great as well. I've heard the same about the Nitto's and back a couple of years ago, the prices on the Nitto TG's were MUCH better than the REVO's, so it would've made sense to give them a try back then. However, now, it looks like they're the same price as REVO's. Personally, I would like to try out the TG's, so I might go with them, but I will have a hard time not getting the REVO's again.