Tires & Wheels Anything about tires and wheels

BFG Rugged trails

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2003, 11:36 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
BFG Rugged trails

They're not Scottish, THEY'RE CRAP! These are without doubt, the worst tire I've ever had on a 4X4. We got about 3 in. of the white stuff today, I was all over the road in 4HI. (I'm a pretty careful driver....) Now, I'll admit, the snow was a little wet and heavy, but these things "filled up" and stayed that way. There is just no way for the tread to clear itself.
I stopped at the local MR. TIRE in this slop. I pulled up right infront of the window and walked inside..... before I said a word, the manager looks out the window and says "Nice truck. The Rugged trails arent doing it, are they?" :pat: Now I need new tires.
Old 12-16-2003, 11:55 AM
Contributing Member

Yeh, these aren't that great unless they're driving on dry pavement.

Mine are almost to the point of being replaced so I can't wait to switch them out with something else and some new wheels as well.
Old 12-16-2003, 12:09 PM

I wouldn't expect them to work well on anything but dry pavement. Look at the tread...they are street tires.
Old 12-16-2003, 01:17 PM
Contributing Member

I suppose parts of the 5 and 405 freeways could be considered rugged trails. And yes the pattern is that of a street tire but with a name like rugged trail it oght to be worth something offroad!

It's a crappy stock tire, at least on the TRD Tacomas, is all. I cna't wait for mine to wear out.
Old 12-16-2003, 03:11 PM

Originally posted by Darx
I suppose parts of the 5 and 405 freeways could be considered rugged trails. And yes the pattern is that of a street tire but with a name like rugged trail it oght to be worth something offroad!

It's a crappy stock tire, at least on the TRD Tacomas, is all. I cna't wait for mine to wear out.
Ditto.
Old 12-16-2003, 03:40 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally posted by 85runner