Maintenance & Repair Archives Note: This section will be merged in with the other tech areas soon, and is now closed

changing calipers

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2002, 11:44 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
changing calipers

I know there are a lot of people on the board who do their own brakes... anyone replace the calipers? Meinekee says both my front calipers are rusted and need to be replaced... they are original, approx 70k miles. They are charging $500. Is this something I can do myself? I'm no master mechanic, but I'm not a moron either.
Old 08-03-2002, 02:21 PM
Contributing Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
This is not a brain surgery item. It is fairly easy to do. I would want to know where the rust is. Rust on the outside is not a problem. If rust develops on the pistons it is a problem. 2 bolts hold the caliper on , and there is 1 hose connection. The hose connection usually has 2 copper washers for seals (make sure you use 2 new ones). When done, bleed the brakes. Tapping lightly on the caliper while bleeding does help knock loose tiny air bubbles and give you better pedal.

Was $500 for the complete job or just the calipers?:eek:
Old 08-03-2002, 06:11 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Re: changing calipers

Originally posted by jacksonpt
I know there are a lot of people on the board who do their own brakes... anyone replace the calipers? Meinekee says both my front calipers are rusted and need to be replaced... they are original, approx 70k miles. They are charging $500. Is this something I can do myself? I'm no master mechanic, but I'm not a moron either.