Solid Axle Swaps, All Years Anything SAS related

1986 4Runner SAS Build Up!

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2016, 08:03 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1986 4Runner SAS Build Up!

Hello everyone... Newbie here

I currently have an 86' on 31' A/T and i know what kind of wheeling i want to do... I have started to do my research and learn what exactly a SAS Swap is... But i know for a FACT there is a ton more to be done in my eyes. So i want to just get a few suggestions from the more experienced people in here that know what there talking about in returns of what a SAS Swap is. I feel like the hardest part right now is where do i start when im ready to SAS for my 4Runner...? for example
  • Whats the best solid for my front end?
  • Will my truck be more stable and perform better if i went with full width axles?​​​​​​​
  • Whats the most common gearing for my SAS Build Up

(Little questions like those i need to find in research, So im really asking i am i doing everything i need to start doing to proceed in a SAS)
Old 12-24-2017, 02:32 PM

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Will the truck be more stable than it was IFS? I would answer no. If you do a Toyota axle with 1.5 spacers in the front, it will Match your rear axle width but it will probably be higher, therefore less stable. But it will articulate more.
Full width or toyota? Usually toyota because most guys like keeping it Toyota, because you don't have to reweld spring perches on the axle, and you don't need adapters for driveshafts bolting to the flange of the axle, and your bolt pattern matches your wheels in the rear.
The most common gearing depends on your tire size. If your staying with 31s the 4.10 gear that likely will come in your Toyota axle is great. Other common gears are 4.88 (great for a 33-35" tire) and 5.29 (over 35")

Last edited by Toy(Yota); 12-24-2017 at 02:33 PM.
Old 12-24-2017, 04:46 PM

Received 35 Likes on 30 Posts