93-98 T100s All T100 trucks

Replacing A/C Compressor

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2013, 04:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Replacing A/C Compressor

I recently purchased a 1998 T100. Its in decent shape, but the A/C isn't working. There was no belt on the compressor when I bought it, so I figured it was shot. Sure enough, the compressor pulley won't turn at all, so I'm looking at replacing it.
I've never done it before, but the couple hundred it will cost me to pull it and replace it with a "working" junk-yard one sure seems a lot better than the $1500 or more it will cost me at a shop.
The concept doesn't seem too hard:
1. Find a "working" one from junkyard, with clutch and pulley attached.
2. Unbolt my old one
3. Bolt up the new one
4. Recharge the system

Has anyone done this before? Any advice? I assume that it would be a good idea to add some oil to the "new" one I'll be putting in.
I also figure it wouldn't hurt to vacuum out the lines. I don't have any specialized equipment, so the best I can do there is to hook up a shop vac and do the best I can.
I understand that this is a bit of a gamble, and that there is a lot that could go wrong. But the price to get it done in the shop is well beyond my budget at the moment, and this would be my only realistic option.
If this is almost certain to end in failure, I won't even attempt it.
If, however, it is likely to get me back up and running with some kind of A/C, then I'll consider tackling it when I have a free day.

Lastly, does anyone know for sure if the A/C compressor off a Tacoma or other Toyota with a 5VZE will fit the T100 5VZE?
Old 06-28-2013, 04:58 PM

Received 91 Likes on 71 Posts
A junk yard one is a gamble but, you may get lucky. A reman shouldn't be $1500.

When compressors fail they usually put trash in the system and it needs to be opened up and flushed. You also need to change the dryer. Possibly the expansion valve. Both not too expensive.