Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Which one should I buy?

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2006, 05:45 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Which one should I buy?

Ok guys, First off, I'm new here...so take it easy.

I need a little

I am a resident of San Antonio, TX , which as most people know is just a few hours away from the TX Coast.

Once or twice a month I make a voyage down padre island national seashore in search of big sharks and other fish which we target from the beach. There is 60miles of beach which we drive, one way, and it can be as smooth as glass, or it can have 50miles of soft powder sand requiring 4-low. In other words, it can be a sunday drive or hell on a vehicle. A lot of you TX guys are probably familiar with the beach.

My question is this; Between the two following vehicles, which one should I buy?

The first one is a 1985 LandCruiser, 4 spd, straight 6cyl. Everything works on it except the A/C, compressor or AC clutch is no good. The tires are new, engine was rebuilt by toyota approximately 60k miles ago. The front axle has had all of the seals rebuilt, interior is in above average shape. The exterior has the usual minor rust, but nothing major as it has been a tx vehicle all it's life. The carb has also been rebuilt. This vehicle is for $2500.00

The second one is a 1990 4runner, 4door, Auto. The exterior is in great shape except a dent in the bumper (minor). The interior is clean, and all windows are functioning. Everything appears to be in operating condition. The tires are in good shape, slightly oversized.