Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Issue with Head Gaskets? Oil/Gas left in too long?

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2016, 09:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Issue with Head Gaskets? Oil/Gas left in too long?

Hey guys! I'm brand new to the YotaTech forums and I'm really happy to be here to understand my truck a lot more. Please be advised this will be a long post as I want to tell everyone where I'm exactly at in my situation. If my grammar/punctuation is off please bare with me. Or help me understand the best way to post something on a forum so it's easier to read for long posts. Thanks again to anyone who can help me out!

A little backstory. I started off knowing barely anything about trucks other than to get an oil change every couple months and what not. Basically nothing at all. I wanted to start fixing my truck so I've been watching hundreds of YouTube videos on my engine and I know tons more than I did a couple weeks ago.

So here's my story. I have a 1993 Toyota Pickup DLX 4x4 with a 3VZE. I got a head gasket replaced in December 2011, 5 years ago from the outstanding recall that went out for it. I ended up having a coolant leak from somewhere undetermined as well as a slight oil pan leak and so I bought a 2003 Ford Focus to be my daily driver and my truck sat for the past 3 years. I was pretty much a moron and did not drain the gas (1/4 tank full currently), and the coolant was not all the way out but near empty. (I know now it's supposed to be Red all these years and it was good ol' Prestone Green. Ugh). I did drain the oil though.