Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

What can the ECM do?

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2006, 05:48 PM
Contributing Member

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
What can the ECM do?

I know I am missing something (a lot of somethings) but I can't understand what the ECM (computer) can or does do to effect the engines performance, even with the multitude of sensors telling the ECM what is going on.

Everything seems physically connected. The crankshaft connects to the camshafts via timing belt. Distributor connects directly to DS cam shaft via gear. Rotor spins in cap via this connection, sending spark down the line every time they connect.

How can the computer change any of this? Spark duration? Fuel injector pulse... but is that all that can be changed electronically once the motor is turning?

I realize there is much more to the process, and I am new at all this. Just trying to better understand how the ECM can help, and hurt, engine performance. My 3.0 runs well, but just seems a little off and I am trying to understand the sytem a bit better.

Thanks
Old 09-29-2006, 06:10 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
How can a carb impact performance? The EFI is your carb.. It essentially regulates fuel. The air is still a physical process, but the EFI determines how much fuel you get and how often. It attempts to regulate the right amount of fuel given an amount of air, but it has it's limitations.

What about spark? The EFI determines when you get a spark - and how advanced or retared the ignition system is.
Old 09-29-2006, 07:13 PM
Contributing Member

Received 34 Likes on 14 Posts
The ECU (Electronic Control Unit) changes the fuel delivery and regulates the spark advance/retard according to conditions (octane of fuel, air density/temperature, engine temperature, etc.). It also uses the VAFM/MAF to determine air/fuel ratio.

What exactly is "off" on your 3.0 (details please!)? I just finished a major tune-up; maybe I can offer some suggestions...
Old 09-29-2006, 08:31 PM