86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Timing Cover Seal Question (22re)

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2006, 09:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Timing Cover Seal Question (22re)

Ok, well I'm finally going to have some time to fix my massive oil leak (basically 5 quarts a day if I drive er at all).

I'll give yall the rundown first so yall know what I'm gibbering on about. Well, I started leaking oil like crazy one day, and I thought it was my oil pan gasket. So I dropped my diff, and replaced the OPG, cranked her up, and low and behold, it wasn't a torn OPG from going muddin like I had thought.

Now I'm by no means an expert on engines (more experienced with body work, drivetrains, and lifts), so I'll have to try and describe where the leak is coming with my limited knowledge of engines.

The leak was coming from the passenger side of the block, more towards the "front" of the block, about level and to the right of the oil filter. From the other topic I made, we pretty much came to the conclusion that it was my timing cover seal (I'm reasonably sure the cover itself is fine, the oil was coming between the cover and the block on the lower right hand corner).

Now I'm just wondering how hard that little bugger is going to be to replace. I know that I have to drop the diff so I can drop the oil pan again, take out the compressor bracket (no need for it to even be in there, my a/c isn't even hooked up), but is that all I need to get out of the way so I have a clear shot for taking that cover off? No removing belts, no removing the fan clutch, no screwing with the crank shaft, or any other stuff? Just drop diff, drop oil pan, remove compressor, pull off timing cover, replace the paper gasket, gasket seal'er it, then put her back together?