86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Stupid me screwed something up with the idle

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2008, 08:19 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Stupid me screwed something up with the idle

Hello... I did a quick search but I admit I'm in a hurry so I might have missed something.

Engine is a 1990 FI. Little coolant line by the thermostat housing blew. Looks like the line that flows coolant through the throttle body. Anyways I replaced it, but to get to it I had to remove a couple things... the TPS connector, the intake tube, and a few vac hose connections.

I was 99 percent sure I put everything back the way it was, but now it idles bad.... sounds like a misfire or something. ???????

I'm still very new to the 22RE engine. I took some pictures...

First thing, what is that little cylinder? It has two lines, one goes to the intake manifold, and the other *I think * goes to this weird diaphragm thing with an adjustable spring.

What is that spring thing? It has four hose connections... I disconnected them all to unscrew it and get it out of the way to replace that coolant line. Somehow I put things back wrong...?

Two of the hose barbs are thin, two are thicker... one of the thicker ones goes to (I think) this brass colored barb on the throttle body. The other one (which I have a red pointer on) goes to (I think) one of the two barbs on that little cylinder behind the distributor.

There are two other barbs on this spring thingy... both are factory-bent towards the driver side... I've shown where they are reconnected.

I've tried swapping the two small barbs, no improvement. I've tried swapping the two silver cylinder connections, no improvement.