Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Still Shakes HELP!!!!

Old 11-22-2012, 04:44 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Still Shakes HELP!!!!

I bought this 95 4Runner from a preacher down south... to get to the point, it was a piece of crap. I should have known better than to trust. I'm no mechanic by no means. But I should have been more aware and checked the underside of it and questioned everything but due to time constraints (I was moving from GA), I didn't do that or I would have at least noticed the boots were worn. I made it to NY, But after all those miles, car started shaking from the front right. At first it wasn't bad but after a week it got worse. I took it to pep boys and other shops and said, wheel bearings, cv axle, idler arm, pitman arm. Cost ran between 700 - 1100. I'm on a limited budget, who isn't. So I decide to do this myself. I ordered the parts. The first thing I changed was the wheel bearings (inner and outer but didn't change the races since they didn't look so bad. Most of the shakes went away. Next day, changed the CV axle, 95% of the shakes gone. The car shakes when I accelerate when I first noticed the problem. But occasionally it did shake when I let go the gas but not while I had it in NEUTRAL and cruising downhills. So I'm hoping this will narrow it down. I've researched online and read that it might be my U-Joint. But need confirmation. I still have to put the other axle (driver side) on but I'm feeling that this is not the cause of shaking. Could the tire been messed up from driving it with that bad shaking prior to fixing the wheel bearings and CV axle?

I'm going to try to get the other driver side CV axle today and putting the idler and pitman arm on.

On a side problem, the brake light goes on when I shift from 1-2 and 2-3 rarely on other gears. FLUID??? There is a sound (squeaking) from the front left brakes.

Can anyone give me some insight, clues, prayers, ideas???