Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Shopping for a Topper

Old 10-17-2016, 09:34 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Shopping for a Topper

This summer I bought a 1995 Pickup, single cab, DLX trim, 2WD engine.

I would like to get a topper for it so I can keep stuff locked inside, and possibly also so I can sleep inside when camping. Unfortunately all the big brands don't have new toppers for my truck (too old I guess?)

I'm pretty new at this and thus flexible with what I want. What options should I be looking at: soft topper, old toppers from craigslist/junk yard pickups, an actual camper, what about custom options?

Thanks for any advice (or pointing at an existing thread with advice, I didn't find anything with searching).

JF
Old 10-17-2016, 10:34 AM

Received 568 Likes on 448 Posts
Welcome to YotaTech!!

I'm pretty new at this and thus flexible with what I want. What options should I be looking at: soft topper, old toppers from craigslist/junk yard pickups, an actual camper, what about custom options?
Honestly, it is really up to you and what you want to use the topper or camper for.
Custom toppers can get expensive quick if someone else is doing the work but could be a fun project if you are up for the work.

I personally have an old Gem Top canopy (or topper) that I bought used from a local dealer that also manufactures their own brand of toppers. It was a Craigslist find and has served my well.
I wanted something that looked great and was also fairly strong. I can sleep in the back but haven't so far. However I do like the look of soft toppers too and considered it until I started looking at the prices.

Old 10-17-2016, 10:43 AM

Yeah when I mentioned custom, I meant pay-someone-to-do-it, not do-it-myself. I don't even have a covered parking spot, and nowhere to do the work. Maybe when I make more money I'll get a place with a garage and learn all that stuff. ^_^