Rewiring my radio help (PO hack) - YotaTech Forums



86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Rewiring my radio help (PO hack)

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-11-2017, 08:21 PM   #1
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 58
Rewiring my radio help (PO hack)

Changing a fuse under the dash today I noticed a red cable connected directly to the 7.5a radio fuse. Given all the hack jobs I found on this truck since I purchased it I figured I d take a look behind the after market radio installed.. Sure enough found these 2 cables exactly like that!! Should the radio be connected to the radio? Can someone tell me why there is 2 big grey cable?
I wonder why he didn't use those to power the radio (yes they re hot) and instead routed a wire straight to the fuse??!!
Katoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 10:31 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Francisco East Bay
Posts: 5,518
The gray cables are after market. They may go to aftermarket speakers. Or pretty much anywhere.

Unless you have some good idea what's going on with the wiring (and the installer of that wiring did not), connecting to a "hot" wire is good for a lot of laughs. You wouldn't be the first person to discover your just-installed radio only worked when the door was open! (and turned on the dome light circuit). So to be safe, some always run their own wiring to the fuse; then you know it's good.

For me, I DID have the wiring diagram, and when I installed my after-market radio I fabbed-up a conversion connector. No spliced wires at all.
scope103 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 11:37 PM   #3
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
wyoming9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: I live in New Tripoli Pa out in the woods
Posts: 12,080
Red face

If it was me and you want to do this correct find the radio harness plugs for the year you have and solder and heat shrink .

Get a adapter harness that plugs into the truck side and connects to your new radio.

Hard wiring if you switch radios your rewiring again

Having all the connections done correct should give you worry free problems
wyoming9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2017, 01:45 PM   #4
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 58
👍 ok its after market. Thanks guys. I 'll work on that
Katoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2017, 01:59 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Nervo19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,224
I think I see a pink wire and IIRC there was one in the stereo wiring. Get one of these:
Amazon Amazon
I did run into trouble with the factory ground and ended up grounding both the harness end and the stereo ground to a metal part of the dash.
Nervo19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:10 AM.


2017 InternetBrands, Inc.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: