86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Replacing torsion bars

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2007, 09:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Replacing torsion bars

Hi. I'm new to this forum; actually, I'm new to owning a 4x4, period. Anyway, I AM mechanically inclined, but I haven't done this before. I just got some Downey torsion bars for my truck. I plan on replacing them myself, of course. My question is, how difficult is it to pull them out and install the new ones? Is there any special tricks I should know about? How long will it take? And lastly, how much cursing is involved? Thanks in advance for your help!
Old 04-16-2007, 09:26 PM

it's really not a huge deal...shouldn't be too much cursing unless you mix up left from right.
Old 04-16-2007, 09:29 PM
Contributing Member

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
There are very fine threaded adjustment bolts at the tail end of the torsion bar. Depending on your luck (and location) these may be rusted or corroded solid... and be almost impossible to undo.

You could try some PB Blaster to break them free. Make sure the torsion bars aren't under any load before you start. Get the front wheels off the ground.

A Toyota dealership will sell these replacement bolts and buckets if you need them. From memory I think the bolts run about $13.00 each.
Old 04-16-2007, 09:32 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Your stock Torsion bars are 22.8 MM. The Downey's are what, 25/ 26 MM if I recall correctly? Way too thick. Unless you are running some serious weight up front combined with bigger tires, I wouldn't bother changing them to something that thick unless you don't mind visiting the dentist every few years to get dentures b/c all of your teeth have been jarred out. The stock torsion bars are excellent bars. If you want something that has slightly more weight carrying capacity, have a look at the OME (Old Man Emu) 23.4 Torsion bars.
Old 04-16-2007, 09:51 PM