Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Replace 22re after head gasket issue?

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2011, 10:22 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Replace 22re after head gasket issue?

OK, it's my first time posting here. I do equipment and truck maintenance for my buddy's landscape company part time. Pretty much it's all f250-f750 trucks that we have, except for one 94 toyota 4x4 with the 22re, auto regular cab. Has about 145k miles on it, and head gasket and a few valves were put on it about a year ago by another garage.

Truck lost heat in cab, and then over heated. Coolant was added and driven another 30ish miles. With full coolant heat worked, and thermostat seemed to be working correctly. The other kid checked it out and said oil was a little high, but didn't look like there was coolant in it, and it seemed to be dripping around the water pump gasket. They dropped it off at my house, and I changed the water pump, and added coolant. It got up to operating temp, and I took it for a ride. I made it about 500 feet down the road before it lost almost all power and started smoking real bad. Coasted back and mud was pouring out of the dip stick, and oil was leaking out of the exhaust manifold gasket.

I drained the rest of the coolant out of the engine, and drained 3.5 gallons of sludge out of the oil pan. Put fresh oil in it, and ran it long enough to get it out of the garage and parked. Still oil smoke coming out of the exhaust, but seemed to run better. I don't know these trucks/motors at all, but my feelings are it's gonna need more than a head gasket at this point. My buddy at a junk yard just got a truck in with 88k on it that runs like a top, but the body is shot. I can get the motor and any related parts i need for $900. I'm thinking thats my best option right now, any suggestions?

Is there an market for the rebuildable core i'll have left or should I scrap it? Thanks for the input guys.