Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Rear end still sagging, even after new leaf springs?

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2017, 01:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rear end still sagging, even after new leaf springs?

Hiya! First time poster, long time lurker. I'm relatively new to wrenching on my truck (1995 pickup, 22re, 4WD ext cab). I bought it 13 years about when I was 16, moved away and it sat for a few years and now am reunited with it. So far I've replaced the oil pump, water pump, timing chain, timing chain guide, cover, tie-rods, pitman and idler arm, shocks and leaf springs. All with the help of searching Yotatech. Up until now, I haven't had to post do to the plethora of knowledge but I'm feeling stuck here.

My question pertains to the last replacement on my list; the leaf springs.

I was getting sag in the rear end, and it was also leaning to the passenger rear side. So I decided to replace the leaf springs, shackles and all the hardware. I bought stock size springs from SD Truck Spring (These ones -> http://www.truckspring.com/products/...)__90-135.aspx ). Had the pleasure of cutting the old ones out because they were so rusted in place. Threw on the new ones and the truck still seems to sag. I'm at a loss on why its not only sagging, but also still leaning?

So far, I'm decent at wrenching, but not 100% at identifying the problem (I've been working and wrenching on motorcycles for the past 10 years though). What are possible problems or possible solutions that you forsee? Should I have purchased extended shackles? An add a leaf kit? But really, with everything back to stock, I feel like it shouldn't be an issue? Could this possibly mean my frames bent (it seems straight and hasn't been in an accident as far as I know).

Anything is helpful and appreciated! Thanks.

Tim
Old 06-18-2017, 04:39 PM