Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

OMG, IT'S ALIVE!! (Finally)

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2012, 11:47 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
OMG, IT'S ALIVE!! (Finally)

Okay, I'm a noob to this site so forgive the mistakes. I just wanted to thank everyone involved with the tech posts. My '91 4Runner finally has some balls.
Quick rundown on the truck that I bought 5 years ago. This is the vehicle that I bought to get around in the bush that I can pack around fishing, camping, skiing gear and not be upset if I slide into a tree (so long as I can exit the truck somehow afterwards). I love the smaller stance of the 4-Runner as is allows me to go down a lot of quad trails that fullsize 4X's can't get into. Also love the gearing as I could climb some pretty good hills in 4low at idle. Downside, lack of power on the road. That said, here's how it all happened.

Phase 1:
At first it seemed to run okay, although a little underpowered. One year after purchase, the head gasket blew. I replaced with Toyota parts but nobody told me about the knock sensor harness. So I got the infamous 5-2 code. CEL on, gutless as hell, I drove it off and on for about a year like that.

Phase 2:
Remembering what I went through the first time, I bit the bullet and took it into the shop to have the knock sensor replaced (still didn't know about the harness). While it was in there I had the cams reground by Colt, a larger exhaust installed and the Cat's removed (yes, we can still do that here in Alberta). I was expecting better performance and pull. Boy was I disappointed. Tried bumping the timing up to 12deg and that helped a bit, but it was still a dog. Found out about the harness about a month later but by then I had found the check of the knock sensor circuit was tapping on the block and watching the timing bounce (Duh, LOL). I left the timing at 12BTDC and decided to run it til it quit.

Phase 3: