86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Newbie with 92 4runner egr question

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2018, 12:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie with 92 4runner egr question

Hello, newbie here to both Yota Tech, and owning a 2nd Gen 4Runner. Two weeks ago I purchased a 1992 4Runner 4 wheel drive, V6, 5 speed. My wife had mentioned numerous times it was her dream vehicle back in the 90's, so I found this one a couple blocks from my work. Story is a couple bought it brand new in 1992, he passed away about a year ago and it sat in the garage until recently. She decided to have it towed to a local repair shop, the battery was dead. Once it was there she decided she didn't want it in the garage anymore, as it reminded her of her husband. The mechanic made her an offer and he bought. He has been driving it for the last three month with plans to give it to his son, but his son is messing up in school, so his wife said sell it. He didn't get any service records on it from the lady, but she said here husband always made sure it had service done and repairs done. The mechanic I bought from said all he did was charge the battery and flush the EGR valve, as the check engine light was on. He said the heads had obviously been done not to long ago, but had no records. he said they look brand new, not even the smallest amount of grease or oil, and you can see new RTV sealant here and there he said, which I looked and agree. It has 180,000 miles on it. It runs great with exception to a few thing -
1. Oil pressure gauge reads extremely low at idle, but doesn't smoke, doesn't overheat
2. The check engine light just came back on. Since he just cleaned the EGR valve, is it safe to assume I should replace it?
3. It has the slightest surge at steady RPM. Is this related to the EGR valve being bad?