86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

New 91runner here!

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2007, 10:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New 91runner here!

Hey all, just picked up a 91 runner 22re today, all service record since 1991, as I bought it from original owner, a lawyer . Truck seems to be in very good shape, aside from hole in muffler, but it still passed smog today haha. Theres a pic added here. I posted yesterday with a first gen, but I decided to give it back to my brother and go with this 22re instead of the 6cyl for now, this ones in better shape . I still have about 1g to spend, aside from the 600 im going to spend on the clutch tomorrow . Im thinking about taking it to 33's immediately following clutch, as in within the next week or two, but im new to this whole truck thing . I'm coming from an integra haha. I wont be wheeling this persay right away, fooling around here and there I suppose. everything seems to be in good shape though. Anyways in short, where would I start with the lift/wheels tires? im pretty set on rockcrawlers I think, but can you guys help me out with a lift/wheel size, etc.? Any info appreciated! Thanks again all

-Jackson
Old 10-25-2007, 10:35 PM

looks good mang, i'd start off with the ome lift setup available here:
http://www.trdparts4u.com/MC-CACJ-BBHG.aspx
option 2.

should be able to fit 33 x 10.5 on the stock rims. if it doesnt already have manual hubs i'd invest in a set of those too. i just bought my rig and am just biding my time till spring when i can actually install some parts.
Old 10-25-2007, 10:46 PM
Contributing Member

Received 9 Likes on 5 Posts
Hmm, those tires look pretty small, look like 28". Check to see if thats the stock size of tire, now if it is. You will have 4.10 gears, now when you go up to a bigger tire this will require alot more effort to turn the wheels. So you will want to re-gear to keep the truck bareable.