Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Need some advice on EFI relay

Old 08-23-2012, 07:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need some advice on EFI relay

I am at a loss on what to look for next on a problem that I having with my 92 4runner (3.0). The problem started with intermittent sputtering and back firing and progressed to a no start issue. Im a noob with Toyotas, but using the wonderful search feature here on yotatech I came up with a few things to try. I started by checking all the fuses and testing the EFI and COR relays per the FSM. The fuses were all good but I replaced them anyways, and I did the test jump on the B+ and FP terminals in the diagnostic box. The fuel pump did not run on the jump, so I had our electrical department at work double check the relays before I bought a new fuel pump. I installed the fuel pump last night and still nothing. I broke out the multi meter today and started testing. The fuel pump was not getting power so I did the test jump again....still nothing. There was continuity between the b and fp, but I was not getting 12v at B+. I ran a jump from the FP terminal to the positive post on the battery and the fuel pump kicked on. I played around a little more and pulled the EFI relay to check volts there. I had 12v at the 5 pin, so I decided to run a jump between the 5 & 3 to see what would happen......the truck fired right up for the first time in two weeks. I had the EFI relay checked yet again, and I also bought a new one. The truck wont run with either relay; it will only run with the 5, 3 jump wire in place of the EFI relay. Im not very good with chasing down wires, so I thought I would ask if anyone might have some advice that they could offer on what to try next.
Old 08-24-2012, 06:57 AM

Received 23 Likes on 20 Posts