Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Need help with brakes!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2015, 11:30 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need help with brakes!!

Ok i have looked through this forum and found very little help but maybe one thread. i have a 4.3l chevy carbed in my 4runner. brakes worked fine before hand. put this new engine swap in the brakes became like a rock running or not (to stop i gotta literally stand on my brake pedal) so i replaced my brake master cylinder with the TG 1" bore upgraded one same issue. so i then looked through this forum found out it might be my brake booster. i got a new one same issue again. my brakes have been bleed so much the fluid is new in it. I got a stock master cylinder to see if it will help but it has yet to be installed to find out. wanna see if it could be something else before i do that.

in the pic i posted you can see the hose coming from the old brake booster to the front of the carb for the vacuum with the valve thing and the old brake master cylinder. (things have been updated under the hood and re organized this is a older pic) but the same issue occurred with the upgraded cylinder.

any help appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails Need help with brakes!!-resampled_2013-11-17_15-19-37_566.jpg  
Old 09-06-2015, 06:09 AM
Super Moderator
Staff

Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts
I have gotten bad boosters in the past, so would not rule that out. The white piece in your hose is a one way Check Valve, I wonder if it is functioning correctly. I looked at my truck and it is installed the same way mine is, The flat part facing toward the booster.
Old 09-06-2015, 08:43 AM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
usually boosters fail by having the diaphragm tear which creates a vacuum leak. typically the symptom is a rough idle when pressing the pedal, which doesn't sound like the case here.