86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Need help with 22RE wiring after 5-speed swap

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2014, 11:07 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need help with 22RE wiring after 5-speed swap

My rig was born as an 88 4runner with 22RE and A340H and I have decided to rebuild the engine and swap in a 5-speed at the same time.

I bought a running donor pickup - 88 22RE with a W56 5-speed tranny.

I decided to rebuild the engine in the truck to minimize down time on the 4runner. I kept the manual wiring harness on the engine since that would mate up nicely to the W56. I should point out that both vehicles HAVE THE SAME ECU, which I found contrary to what other people have said, but hey... it should make the swap simpler, right? Well, maybe not...

First of all, let me tell you that I am not very good at reading electrical schematics. I have stared at the FSM and read every 5-speed swap thread I could find for weeks and I could really use some suggestions from you folks!

Everything is installed now and looking the cluster of connectors in the right side pass kick-panel behind the ECU, there is one connector coming from the manual engine harness that has nowhere to plug in. There is also a connector coming from the chassis automatic transmission ECU that is also homeless.

The only way I could get the engine to turn over is to connect ST1 (Black with White stripe at steering column) directly to the small spade-terminal on the bottom of the starter. There is no starter relay under the hood for the Automatic. I assume that the neutral start switch performed this function on the auto. I do have the starter relay from the donor truck if I need to wire it in. The engine did crank and run ok, but I was afraid I was bypassing something in the ECU and did not run it long. The automatic ECU was unplugged.