Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

LSPV and Rear ABS info

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2012, 01:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
LSPV and Rear ABS info

I have wondered two things about these valves since seeing them:

1. Why is the front brake circuit plumbed into LSPV?
2. Why is the power steering pump plumbed into the Rear ABS?

Last night I had the good fortune to get these two questions answrered. I'm a brake engineer at the Toyota Proving Grounds and have been waiting for my next trip to Japan to find an 'old' brake guy to ask. As luck would have it, he came to me.

We had a brake supplier now named ADVICS (a merger of brake divisions of Aisin and Sumitomo) in town this week. As it turned out, I had dinner with the original Aisin Seiki design engineer who was onsite at Toyota Japan and responsible for the LSPV and Rear ABS when it was later introduced.

He stated the following (not everything was a perfect translation due to the language barrier, but close):

LSPV

The front circuit to the LSPV acts as a safety bypass valve. There is a low pressure plunger or piston that is moved by front brake pressure and redirects fluid to flow into the 'business end' of the LSPV to get proportioned. Since the 4Runner is Front/Rear split its considered a failsafe if the front circuit fails. With no pressure from the front circuit, the plunger stays in place and is simply a though valve allowing full pressure to the rear brakes. Even though the rear brakes suck, they would suck much worse if you lose the front circuit *and* were proportioned by the LSPV. There is a chance though of locking the rears if the vehicle is unloaded I would guess.

Rear ABS