Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Looking into 22RE Engine rebuild... a few questions

Old 02-02-2015, 12:04 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Looking into 22RE Engine rebuild... a few questions

So, its finally that time, or getting close enough to it that I'm starting to look at sourcing some parts, and preparing myself for an engine rebuild.I would like to do it myself if possible. It won't happen till summer time, as I am a college student, and it is my DD. Right now the engine runs fine, no leaks, runs well, but it has an annoying tick in the top end. I have isolated it as possibly a valve or worn rocker arm. After 206,000 miles, she needs some love. I am looking to get some advice on what I am thinking on doing, as well hear from others who have done it.

Here's the Plan for the head:

Complete new Head from engbldr:
-Street RV head
-261C or 268C cam (haven't decided)

From 22RE Performance:
-Higher Oiling Rocker Shafts
-Complete OEM Gasket set (just good insurance)

From Toyota:
-OEM Rocker arms, springs, etc

I also plan to have the injectors rebuilt and plan to clean everything out on the intake side, and maybe throw on a good header.