Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

just purchased a 1990 sr5 v6 =)

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2009, 01:56 PM
OMX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
just purchased a 1990 sr5 v6 =)

well im not technically new to the board as i had a 91 truck with a 22re about 3 years ago with 266k on it that i sold. but i just decided to rejoin the toyota family again as my bmw is lacking in the reliability department and i remembered that my good ol truck would actually have to jump start the bmw at times haha.

anyway i just got a 1990 sr5 pickup with the v6. it has 166k on it. the repair records indicate that the hg was replaced 30k miles ago which kinda makes me feel good thats out of the way, and its had most major maintenance work done in the last 30k. doesnt leak a drop of oil and the engine seems solid.

looks like the truck has some sort of lift kit on it which is kind of cool (ive never been a truck person before, usually stick with sports cars)

anyway i have a few questions on i think what are probably usual things that go wrong.
1. i already did a search and it looks like i have to replace one of the axle bearings/needle bearing/thrust bushing to get rid of an horrible noise when its cold.
2. the cruise control doesnt work. i havent looked into detail what exactly is wrong with it (not really a big concern for me) but i was wondering how hard is this to fix?
3. the ebrake doesnt work. this happened on my other truck i had too. not a major thing, but also how hard is this to replace?
4. a/c doesnt work. im guessing ill have to probably replace the a/c compressor. hard to do in this vehicle and expensive? not a big concern as it is winter in MN right now.
5. i have the "rear anti lock" light on. not sure if maybe its because the brake doesnt work, but if its not because of that, what are some typical things of why this light would turn on, and some solutions for this. im fine with out abs for the time being.