86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Inexpensive Upgrades

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2007, 06:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Inexpensive Upgrades

I am looking for some inexpensive things to do to my truck, I am still a highschool student, and I am trying to save some money for college, but I want to do some things that actually have a purpose. I was thinking BJ spacers, so that I can lower my T-Bars, and some new shackles so that I can remove the lift blocks, what would you suggest?
Old 01-22-2007, 07:18 PM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
search deckplate and isr mods
Old 01-22-2007, 07:30 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by MMA_Alex
search deckplate and isr mods
ISR? On a 22re?
Old 01-22-2007, 07:45 PM

The 22RE really needs some sort of cold air intake.. Intake temps with the stock air box intake are actually pretty high... Try to build something that won't suck up water, doesn't impact air flow and is cheap..

Outside of that, advance your timing just a bit...
Old 01-22-2007, 09:07 PM

Try swapping your Airbox and battery locations. It really shortens up the path from the filter to the throttle body, and it means the air isn't running across a hot engine.

I liked my BJ spacers, easy instal, not overly costly, and I didn't need to crank the t-bars.

As for shackles...I hate blocks, nuf said.

If you're looking for more fun on the Daily Drive, mabey a new EB stick? something like their 268 cam. Same price as BJ spacers, and you don't need to be offroad to take advantage of it.
Old 01-22-2007, 09:13 PM
Contributing Member

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
how bout one of these Clicky and a trueflow filter
Old 01-22-2007, 09:43 PM

Make sure your rig is in top shape?

Headers, exhaust. TRD Stage 1 Cams. Metal Timing Chain guides. Synthetic Oil. Synthetic gear lubes in your tranny, transfer case, & front/rear diffs.
Old 01-22-2007, 11:42 PM

Ok inexpensive mods...lets see: