Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Help my EGR woes... 1993 3VZ-E 4x4 dlx 5-speed

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2015, 06:43 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help my EGR woes... 1993 3VZ-E 4x4 dlx 5-speed

So my truck runs great, I've had the HG done twice since new (once on recall) and she has 124,500 on the clock now but the issue that plagues me now is my CEL light keeps coming on. The obd1 wire code read says code 71 EGR fault. I took it to the Stealership and they diagnosed it with a bad EGR modulator and VSV $636!!!! I've already replaced/repaired the TVV sensor. I promptly burned rubber leaving and bought the modulator on Amazon for $16 but couldn't find the vsv or even what it is exactly.... Is it that whole block of vacuum stuff???

My question is do I just online shop and swap, or do an "EGR delete" whatever that is??? I'm in southern CA and any emission stuff is tough to pass here. Please help, pics etc. I'm not a pro, but I can hopefully fix this on my own.

Replaced this one

Old 08-10-2015, 07:28 PM

Received 820 Likes on 648 Posts
Don't even bother thinking about an "EGR delete." You won't be able to pass smog, you can't legally sell your truck, you'll be poisoning the air you and everyone else breath. Plus it won't make the CEL go away.

"online shop and swap"? You'll burn up that $636 in no time. Plus we'll all laugh at you.

You already know it is either the modulator or VSV or both. (By the way, if your $16 modulator is a Dorman 911-609, even Amazon says it won't fit your truck.) So read up on how the EGR works, http://personal.utulsa.edu/~nathan-b...77exhaustg.pdf , and run the prescribed tests. Rockauto has the correct (aftermarket) modulator for about $50. The VSV is about $100, so if that's your problem you could consider a salvage yard.
Old 08-10-2015, 07:37 PM
Super Moderator
Staff

Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts