Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Help! 93 4Runner 5spd 4x4 3vze need help getting heads back together

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2015, 09:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help! 93 4Runner 5spd 4x4 3vze need help getting heads back together

I bought a 93 4Runner 5spd 4x4 3vze last summer after I graduated highshcool. When I bought the car it ran great for about 50 miles or so and then it just shut off. After I got it towed home I eventually figured out the problem. The timing was off a tooth and somehow one of the shims bent and Jamed the camshaft on the left side. Two of the valves were bent and the head was burnt so I went to the junkyard and got a good working head with the cam for about 150$. I replaced the head, but I ended up now dealing with some problems that I need help With. First off do I need the knock sensor? Will it affect performance if I don't have it connected? Second I need help with the distributer gear positioning I messed up by taking the distributer Apart thinking I that's how I detach it on the camshaft, but I found out I was wrong. Since I took it aprt I don't know how to align the gear in it correctly, so that it distributes in the correct order. I took the heads off in this car in 45min, but in doing that I lost on putting it back together. I just need help on if I should keep working on it or sell it. I'm 19 and I'm in college and I play baseball so time is an issue, I have no mechanic and i have no money and it would be be nice to have a car lol. Help!

I need help knowing what I need to do to get this lined up on the cam correctly or should I just buy another one that's not taken apart?
Old 12-05-2015, 04:42 AM

Received 99 Likes on 86 Posts
Red face

Perhaps someone close to you could help in person!!

The only thing I could suggest is the Factory Service Manual for your year vehicle.

I am sure glad I was to stupid to go to collage.
Old 12-05-2015, 07:55 AM