Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Front end, Driver side clunking - 88 Pickup 4x4

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2017, 07:37 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Front end, Driver side clunking - 88 Pickup 4x4

Hello,
So im new to YOTATECH so im not entirely sure if a solution was posted on similar threads.
My 1988 toyota pickup excab dlx 4x4 is starting to clunk on the drivers side when wheel is turned and the wheel is traveling upwards. This clunking is most defined when i am making a sharp right turn and hit a moderate bump. This noise is felt through floor board and makes a god awful sounding clunk.

Front end components i have replaced PRIOR to clunking noise:
Ball joints- all(uppers+lowers on both sides)
Shocks-(bilstien 4600s)
TieRods+adjusting sleeves(inner+outer both sides of centerlink)
Pitman arm
Idlerarm
CVs(both sides)
Rotors

I have completely services the entire hub assembly, wheel bearings inspected for scarring or damage(and repacked with grease), hub assembly cleaned and re greased, aisin hubs restored and properly greased.
To add, I am a toque spec freak so every single bolt removed will be, and has been torqued to manufacture spec

NOTE: This truck has 355k miles and is family heirloom so i know all the maintenance records. All repairs I have made are very recent less than 10k miles.

Clunk Present after replacing:
OME steering dampener
Brakes

*****the bottom of fender to top of 15 inch wheel rim reads to around 14 inches on both driver and passenger side (in case yall were wondering about a torsion bar adjustment, I have made sure they are within spec[well personal spec]).****

My suspicions:
Control arm bushings- no noticeable movement when truck is lifted.
Steering columm??? Took a good shake to that as well and absolutely no movement.

AGAIN: Clunking noise has been present for a few months(<4000 miles)