Faulty TPS and gas in oil - YotaTech Forums



86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Faulty TPS and gas in oil

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-07-2017, 06:41 PM   #1
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 129
Faulty TPS and gas in oil

90' 22re

I tested my TPS as shown in this link http://www.4crawler.com/4x4/CheapTricks/TPS/index.shtml and mines come out as bad. My multimeter reads roughly less than 200ohms at all settings, indicating there is too little resistance. Can this cause a rich fuel mixture and get fuel in the oil by any chance? I've already got new injectors on the way but wondering if this may be a cause as well.

Otherwise, the truck is running fine. Only minor problem is that the idle does not kick down once it's warmed up.

Last edited by mattyboi; 08-07-2017 at 08:05 PM.
mattyboi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2017, 07:14 PM   #2
Registered User
 
ksti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: CA, Until TSHTF!
Posts: 1,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattyboi View Post
Can this cause a rich fuel mixture and get fuel in the oil by any chance? I've already got new injectors on the way but wondering if this may be a cause as well.


Yes, it can and looks like it already happened.
Prolonged driving this way and the fuel is probably start washing your rings.
A rich condition could also reek havoc on your upstream o2 sensor.
I would replace the TPS as soon as you can.
ksti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2017, 07:27 PM   #3
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksti View Post

Yes, it can and looks like it already happened.
Prolonged driving this way and the fuel is probably start washing your rings.
A rich condition could also reek havoc on your upstream o2 sensor.
I would replace the TPS as soon as you can.
Thanks for the reply. Luckily this truck is not a daily and will stay parked until the new parts are here. I think I'll also do a compression test after I change the oil as well.
mattyboi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2017, 07:49 PM   #4
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 129
And just to make sure I'm doing this correctly, the bottom terminal as shown here is E2 right?


Last edited by mattyboi; 08-07-2017 at 07:52 PM.
mattyboi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2017, 08:05 PM   #5
Registered User
 
ksti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: CA, Until TSHTF!
Posts: 1,144
Yes.

ksti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2017, 10:04 PM   #6
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 129
Ok just re did the test because I didn't have the TPS in the throttle body properly lol So it passed test #1, #4, #3 and #5 but failed #2. For #2 it shows O.L (OL is same as open right?). I then checked the resistance at all throttle positions within these two terminals, and same thing, though it showed 200ohms at full close.
mattyboi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 09:35 AM   #7
Registered User
 
ksti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: CA, Until TSHTF!
Posts: 1,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattyboi View Post
Ok just re did the test because I didn't have the TPS in the throttle body properly lol So it passed test #1, #4, #3 and #5 but failed #2. For #2 it shows O.L (OL is same as open right?). I then checked the resistance at all throttle positions within these two terminals, and same thing, though it showed 200ohms at full close.
Credit to "Scope103"
This puts it in a simpler perspective.

In a perfect world, "open" would be infinite resistance (as in: infinite, not 250 megohm or some other non-infinite number) and "continuity" would be 0.0000 ohms. But since the IDL contact is not a snap-switch, it's going to be slightly imperfect. So the engineers have already taken that into account for you, and they've decided that 2.3k is close enough to 0 for them. Now, if you can get it to reliably hit 2k ohms every time, then I would worry a little. But more likely you'll get a spread of numbers, and as long as they're all below 2.3k just be happy.
ksti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 01:57 PM   #8
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksti View Post
Credit to "Scope103"
This puts it in a simpler perspective.

In a perfect world, "open" would be infinite resistance (as in: infinite, not 250 megohm or some other non-infinite number) and "continuity" would be 0.0000 ohms. But since the IDL contact is not a snap-switch, it's going to be slightly imperfect. So the engineers have already taken that into account for you, and they've decided that 2.3k is close enough to 0 for them. Now, if you can get it to reliably hit 2k ohms every time, then I would worry a little. But more likely you'll get a spread of numbers, and as long as they're all below 2.3k just be happy.
So you're saying that OL is below 2.3K and it therefore passed test #2? But isn't OL technically 2.3K? I/m getting confused now lol
mattyboi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 03:22 PM   #9
Registered User
 
ksti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: CA, Until TSHTF!
Posts: 1,144
Without being there, it's difficult for me to explain it any better.
For that I apologize.
Lets see if we can get someone else to help out.
ksti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2017, 06:59 PM   #10
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksti View Post
Without being there, it's difficult for me to explain it any better.
For that I apologize.
Lets see if we can get someone else to help out.
So test #2 needs continuity less than 2,300ohms. Since I'm getting open loop there is zero continuity which means fail?
mattyboi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2017, 04:10 AM   #11
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Peekskill, NY
Posts: 1,009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattyboi View Post
So test #2 needs continuity less than 2,300ohms. Since I'm getting open loop there is zero continuity which means fail?
That is correct. its busted.
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2017, 04:07 PM   #12
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 129
Well I got my new part but lucky me, it's not the right one! As you can see (original on the right), they have different connectors and in the second pic the spring part is facing the wrong way. I searched a couple other part sites and the same thing comes up! Is there something unique with the 90' 2.4L tps?

Edit: Searched 89' 4runner and it looks like that part matches what I need.




Last edited by mattyboi; 08-11-2017 at 04:19 PM.
mattyboi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 06:57 AM   #13
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Peekskill, NY
Posts: 1,009
Someone pulled a switcheroo. My guess is you have an older TPS and perhaps an older ecu as well.
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 08:46 AM   #14
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 129
I just talked to a friend who's also a toyota fan. He said he thinks early produced 90' 4runners came with the older tps. In my case it was one of the first batch of 90' 4runners as the manufactured sticker says August 89'. So it's possible that they updated it within the same year.

But I actually got my old tps set properly now! Instead of sticking one feeler gauge in, I let the whole set hang down and it was opening the throttle quite a bit without me noticing. After bit of trial and error I got it to pass all tests!

I cleaned out my throttle body last summer and removed and replaced the tps without knowing it had to be set properly. So hopefully she runs better now.

Last edited by mattyboi; 08-12-2017 at 10:51 AM.
mattyboi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 09:53 AM   #15
Registered User
 
ksti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: CA, Until TSHTF!
Posts: 1,144
That's good you got it figured out i wasn't convinced it was bad.
Did you also replace old screws with allen type?
ksti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 10:53 AM   #16
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksti View Post
That's good you got it figured out i wasn't convinced it was bad.
Did you also replace old screws with allen type?
Definetely did! Found a pair for 99c locally. So if it still needs some fine tuning should be no problem.

Once I get my new fuel injectors and throttle back in I'll check compression to see how much damage the gas on oil may have caused. Wish me luck

Last edited by mattyboi; 08-12-2017 at 11:01 AM.
mattyboi is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:55 PM.


2017 InternetBrands, Inc.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: