Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Driveshaft precautions.

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2008, 08:00 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Driveshaft precautions.

Planning to drop my driveshaft at the transfer case today to check the locknut on the output shaft. After removing the bolts on the flange there seems to be a lot of pressure on the driveshaft. I've taken driveshafts off other vehicles to have u-joints replaced and none of them seemed to be under this much pressure. I'm no great mechanic so my question is..is this normal? Are there any special precautions I should take other than making sure it goes back on in the same position? I need to use the truck this afternoon and just want to make sure I'm not getting in to something I can't get back together. Hope someone can help a rookie out. Thanks.
Old 12-18-2008, 08:23 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Let us know what type of rig you have. On my 93 4Runner 4WD - After you remove the bolts from the flanges the DS should slide out. You might have to push back on the flange that connects the DS to the Transfter case to push the front of the DS back into the sliding spline. If I'm not right - someone let me know
Old 12-18-2008, 08:23 AM

Out of curiosity why are you checking the lock nut? Are you thinking it may be loose?

Reason I'm asking is because I'm having a vibration in my 4Runner I'm thinking it may have to do with the driveshaft, so I'm wondering if this is something I should check too??
Old 12-18-2008, 08:44 AM