86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Dont Drill Your Air Box!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2007, 06:20 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Thumbs down Dont Drill Your Air Box!!

alright now watever you plan on doing to get more responsse,dont EVER drill the air box ,heres wat i encountered:

i was always braging about why the hell does my truck do better in cold condition,then i tought it was the moisture,and then i started playing with my timming advance ignition,then i screewed up everything,from TPS adjustments to changing my o2 sensor,and so on.

but NOW i know,its that damn airbox,i just figured out i drilled it way back ago,while alowing more air into the box,i let hot air get inside too,cause the left side plenum is right near it creating alot of hot air inside motor,thats why when my engine was hot it was not performing.

i just did a small test .taping wut i did and trying to make a way for the cold air to get to the box easily,for now its just a experimentation,but it WORKS .defenatly a big difference when engine is hot. im looking forward on doing a mod real soon... get that intake as far as you can from hot air guys.
Old 09-05-2007, 07:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Best bet if you want cooler air flow is to swap the AFM with the battery, get it away from the exhaust altogether... esp if you have headers.
Old 09-05-2007, 07:30 PM
Contributing Member

Received 9 Likes on 5 Posts
Originally Posted by RatLabGuy
Best bet if you want cooler air flow is to swap the AFM with the battery, get it away from the exhaust altogether... esp if you have headers.

how would that help on a 3.0?
Old 09-05-2007, 08:08 PM

Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by Jay351
how would that help on a 3.0?
Oh no, don't worry it will.
Old 09-05-2007, 09:22 PM

I agree.. intake temps are really high on these trucks well into the 125+ F range.
Old 09-05-2007, 10:16 PM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post