Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Disc brakes done... question on LP valve

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2007, 08:04 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Disc brakes done... question on LP valve

Ok so i got the discs on, hell yea they rock but.... they work TO GOOD.

I have summits LP valve adjusted to block as much pressure as it can but the rears still have a long ways to go before the fronts lock up before them.

This is a dangerous situation, thank god its summer and not raining here in the NW..

Ok, ideas? can i double up the manual LP valves, run two? .. is there another model out there that limits MORE pressure (why cant they this summit one limit more pressure, what the heck?)

I read this might be a problem but so many people running their discs exactly like I got mine and don't complain... i dont get it..

I have a 1" Master cylinder, pedal is stiff and plenty of braking power.. but I HAVE to limit the rears more.

**I'll post a small writeup on this conversion to supplement Elvotas writeup. I ran into some snags he didn't that I think people should know about if they want to do this conversion. I'll post this up later tonight or this week, tonight i have to get the driveline brake in.

Last edited by drew303; 07-31-2007 at 08:05 PM.
Old 07-31-2007, 08:20 PM

OK,

this is a perfect example of extreme fatigue

I installed the LP valve backwards. I think 4hrs of sleep in 48 hrs and working on brakes isnt a good idea.. =) .. but.. this is what school, work and to many projects does to ya!

I'll fix it and report back on how installing it correctly effect the braking =)
Old 07-31-2007, 09:55 PM

ok, so i switched it but get the same result

friggen a.

I mean it is doing something, barely. hmm.....

this is the proportioning valve i have

http://store.summitracing.com/partde...0&autoview=sku