Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Digital Cluster

Old 04-15-2013, 10:38 PM
  #1  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
weaselman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 639
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Digital Cluster

click all images to make bigger.

I have a digital cluster in my turbo 4 runner as of right now. i want to replace it because of this problem (see video) and i don't really like the digital cluster anyways.

VIDEO:
this is with me turning on the heater/headlights/rolling up windows


PIC:
Name:  2_zps2fae07df.jpg
Views: 1071
Size:  71.6 KB

i have this turbo cluster out of a pickup.


what is it going to take to swap out?
i have studied all the wiring diagrams and troubleshooting guides for the cluster, but i cant find a diagram like this for the digital cluster.
Name:  Untitled_zps3ad75b9a.png
Views: 3281
Size:  322.2 KB


from the wiring diagrams i have gathered that I will need a new fuel sender and a new oil pressure sender. i will also have to splice in the correct plugs.

Last edited by weaselman; 04-16-2013 at 12:16 PM.
weaselman is offline  
Old 04-15-2013, 10:50 PM
  #2  
Registered User
iTrader: (-1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,206
Likes: 0
Liked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Video doesn't work, you used the thumbnail link.
Video link

I was under the impression they were P&P, will have to poke around and see if I saved the turbo manuals.
Co_94_PU is offline  
Old 04-15-2013, 10:57 PM
  #3  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
weaselman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 639
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
http://smg.photobucket.com/user/weas...fb1e6.mp4.html

i was under the same impression as you, but the plugs are severly different.. the digital has 4 plugs, analog has 3 plugs. and they are different types of plugs.
weaselman is offline  
Old 04-15-2013, 11:02 PM
  #4  
Registered User
iTrader: (-1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,206
Likes: 0
Liked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Ok got a new recommendation for worst diagram ever, but it is mostly because it's build up out of screen shots. Way too blury. Won't be much help here.

Can tell you the electrical problem with the digital dash should be a simple fix, looks like just a voltage dropout issue so a simple component swap or may just some resoldering. Capacitor or voltage regulator would be my first guess.

Don't overlook the charging system either, might not even be a gauge problem.
Co_94_PU is offline  
Old 04-15-2013, 11:21 PM
  #5  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
weaselman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 639
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by Co_94_PU View Post
Ok got a new recommendation for worst diagram ever, but it is mostly because it's build up out of screen shots. Way too blury. Won't be much help here.

Can tell you the electrical problem with the digital dash should be a simple fix, looks like just a voltage dropout issue so a simple component swap or may just some resoldering. Capacitor or voltage regulator would be my first guess.

Don't overlook the charging system either, might not even be a gauge problem.
anything would help, i can try to make sense out of it. whats the link?

yeah, it seems pretty easy fix, im confident i can/will figure it out, just wanted to see if someone had some advice because they already accomplished this.

my charging system is putting out 14.5 volts at the battery and 13.8 volts at evey power wire on the 4 connectors for the digital dash. and all grounds have .2 ohms.. i dont know where else to look into fixing my digital cluster. i cant find a lot of info on it.
weaselman is offline  
Old 04-16-2013, 07:48 AM
  #6  
Registered User
iTrader: (4)
 
Grego92's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: People's Republic of California
Posts: 698
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
If you decide to convert to analog:

Have you seen the Electrical Wiring Diagram manual? 1987 4runner/Pickup EWD Manual. It will have the wiring diagram for the analog and digital gauge. You will also likely need the same manual for the year that your analog came from, UNLESS someone can positively tell you that the wiring in the 87' analog is the same as whatever year your analog is from (88-89?). You may say "i'm sure it is..", but that is not the case with 2nd Gen Toyota Camry's (87'-91'), I know from my own and others experience. There are slight differences.

In the Camry world it is rare to have a digital gauge, so when someone finds one at the yard it is common to want to do the opposite of what you want to do. Just like you've noticed with your 4runner, there are different plugs and the wiring is different. For the most part, with the two diagrams from the manuals, you can rewire to the correct plugs. I started working on mine and then had to stop...wedding took priority.

You can see that I have the 87' and 90' electrical manuals. Blue painted fuel gauge senders are the digital ones. Rheostats (dimmer switch) may need to be swapped out also, I know for the Camry it does.

Image I found of 87' EWD manual

Name:  87ewdmanual_zps1f2c4636.jpg
Views: 1044
Size:  44.5 KB

2nd Gen Camry

Name:  IMG_0041-1.jpg
Views: 1004
Size:  49.3 KB

Name:  IMG_0048.jpg
Views: 1578
Size:  37.8 KB

Last edited by Grego92; 04-16-2013 at 07:57 AM.
Grego92 is offline  
Old 04-16-2013, 09:05 AM
  #7  
Contributing Member
 
aviator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: COTKU,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 11,334
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
87 to 90 would not swap out since they are from different generations...
if you want to swap gauges you are limited to 84-89 4runner or 84-88 truck as sources for the analog gauges...
aviator is offline  
Old 04-16-2013, 09:58 AM
  #8  
Registered User
iTrader: (4)
 
Grego92's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: People's Republic of California
Posts: 698
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by aviator View Post
87 to 90 would not swap out since they are from different generations...
if you want to swap gauges you are limited to 84-89 4runner or 84-88 truck as sources for the analog gauges...
Looking at his photos, that appears to be what he's doing. Is that photo of the analog guage not a 2nd gen truck?

You may be confusing what I'm doing with my camry, 87-91' are the same generation.
Grego92 is offline  
Old 04-16-2013, 12:24 PM
  #9  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
weaselman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 639
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by Grego92 View Post
If you decide to convert to analog:

Have you seen the Electrical Wiring Diagram manual? 1987 4runner/Pickup EWD Manual. It will have the wiring diagram for the analog and digital gauge. You will also likely need the same manual for the year that your analog came from, UNLESS someone can positively tell you that the wiring in the 87' analog is the same as whatever year your analog is from (88-89?). You may say "i'm sure it is..", but that is not the case with 2nd Gen Toyota Camry's (87'-91'), I know from my own and others experience. There are slight differences.

Image I found of 87' EWD manual

I must loacate this wiring diagram book…I have a Factory service manual for the 87 turbo trucks and runners, but no digital circuit wiring.

Originally Posted by aviator View Post
87 to 90 would not swap out since they are from different generations...
if you want to swap gauges you are limited to 84-89 4runner or 84-88 truck as sources for the analog gauges...
My digital gauge is out of a 1987 Turbo 4runner.
My analog gauge is out of a 1986 Turbo Pickup.

Im confident I can swap these, just need to locate some wiring diagrams for the digital cluster.
weaselman is offline  
Old 04-16-2013, 06:12 PM
  #10  
Registered User
iTrader: (-1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,206
Likes: 0
Liked 64 Times in 64 Posts
http://www.22rte-trucks.com/public_f...ner_wiring.pdf
Cluster starts on page 9, digital is the right hand one it doesn't give an internal schematic. Atleast it gives some direction to go in if you're set on swapping. Looks like everything except the fuel and turbo guages swap over.

This thread indicates it's a alternator or grounding issue.
http://www.22rte-trucks.com/simplema...hp?topic=686.0

Also the 86 FSM Should have a section on the digital dash. But I went thru 20 pages of google results and got bored looking for it

I'd try monitoring the voltage on plug C1 see if it's spiking or cutting out, and add an AUX ground on C2 to the dash brace. You'll get more cash for your digital dash if ou can sell it as a known working unit I imagine so it's worth trying to solve the issue even if you want to swap them out for astetics.
Co_94_PU is offline  
Old 04-16-2013, 07:53 PM
  #11  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
weaselman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 639
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Finally was able to track down come digital cluster wiring and information. I will figure it our from here. Thank you for ALL the help!

4Runner Digital Cluster Wiring

Name:  IMG_0848_zpse38462eb.jpg
Views: 1061
Size:  61.0 KB

Name:  IMG_0849_zps32c9b7b7.jpg
Views: 1231
Size:  61.2 KB

Name:  IMG_0850_zps1a266290.jpg
Views: 1026
Size:  60.7 KB

Name:  IMG_0851_zpsbb4dc9a8.jpg
Views: 1030
Size:  75.8 KB
weaselman is offline  
Old 04-17-2013, 05:49 AM
  #12  
Contributing Member
 
aviator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: COTKU,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 11,334
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Grego92 View Post
Looking at his photos, that appears to be what he's doing. Is that photo of the analog guage not a 2nd gen truck?

You may be confusing what I'm doing with my camry, 87-91' are the same generation.
Nope that's a 1gen cluster on the two gen clusters the small gauges are all horizontal sweep not vertical.
...that and there was no turbo available in the NA market after 87.

Last edited by aviator; 04-17-2013 at 05:53 AM.
aviator is offline  
Old 04-17-2013, 04:19 PM
  #13  
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
slacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 5,950
Liked 11 Times in 10 Posts
are you chuckin' out the original cluster ?



.
slacker is offline  
Old 04-17-2013, 09:23 PM
  #14  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
weaselman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 639
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Slacker. I have a party interested in it.

UPDATE. I have everything wired and mostly working correctly.
Water temp. Volt meter and oil pressure work fine. As well as the tachometer. Have not driven it so I do not know if speedometer works.

Problems I am having are that the little turbo light is constantly lit up.

I have not wired up the fuel gauge.

Last edited by weaselman; 04-17-2013 at 09:55 PM.
weaselman is offline  
Old 04-18-2013, 04:56 AM
  #15  
Registered User
iTrader: (-1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,206
Likes: 0
Liked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Have to wire up the computer, Pin 17(pin #11 in the middle plug) to C4 on the cluster. Should be a 0-5volt signal. The digital cluster uses a pressure sensor, the analog uses a signal from the computer
Co_94_PU is offline  
Old 04-18-2013, 08:55 AM
  #16  
Contributing Member
 
aviator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: COTKU,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 11,334
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
What is the turbo idiot light for? over boost indication?
aviator is offline  
Old 04-18-2013, 12:44 PM
  #17  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
weaselman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 639
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by Co_94_PU View Post
Have to wire up the computer, Pin 17(pin #11 in the middle plug) to C4 on the cluster. Should be a 0-5volt signal. The digital cluster uses a pressure sensor, the analog uses a signal from the computer
There is already a green and blue wire in that pin. I am having trouble locating the other end. As it is not up with all the other dash wires. Do you have an idea where it gets routed to? Or am I just going to have to tap into it?
weaselman is offline  
Old 04-18-2013, 12:55 PM
  #18  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
weaselman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 639
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by aviator View Post
What is the turbo idiot light for? over boost indication?
It's a green LED so I'm pretty sure it just means the turbo is boosting. The definitely should have incorporated a gauge like they did with the digital cluster.
weaselman is offline  
Old 04-18-2013, 04:44 PM
  #19  
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
slacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 5,950
Liked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Originally Posted by weaselman View Post
Slacker. I have a party interested in it.
hey no worries ...
just didnt want to see it go to waist .. I would have liked to "dissect" it
maybe get it working again


.
slacker is offline  
Old 04-18-2013, 05:34 PM
  #20  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
weaselman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 639
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by slacker View Post
hey no worries ...
just didnt want to see it go to waist .. I would have liked to "dissect" it
maybe get it working again


.
i fixed it before taking it out, it was a bad grounding issue. i realized that after i did my trans swap i only connected the battery to the body, not any other ground.

UPDATE: I have everything working except for the fuel gauge (need a new sender for the gauge). I even put LED's to light up the dash!.
weaselman is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Digital Cluster


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: