86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

complete newb.. replacing pitman arm idler arm

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2013, 08:45 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by 87blackbeauty
I've had no issue using a pickle fork for this kind of work. I in no way feel like it harms the vehicle. I would certainly rather use those pullers, but they bend and break and that's just not okay. Also, for me, the pickle fork's already here and cheap. As mentioned above, it's just preference. My family's trusted mechanic uses them and has no issues. He's not an amateur, so implying all who use them are is false and misleading. I would say get something to separate the parts with and a hammer. The hammer is the important tool anyway. That and your own knowledge. Plan for the worst, hope for the best.
Ditto, I've used a pickle fork over a dozen times over the years, never had a problem, you can buy them for $10.
Old 08-02-2013, 09:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I know not a Toyota but I replaced my dads pitman arm on his 2500 and removed it with a pickle fork. Once everything was back together the steering was super tight. Using the pickle fork removing the pitman arm misaligned the shaft in the steering box and caused it to leak. I was in trade school at the time and the teacher told me to use to fork after I asked him should I use a puller. It only cost us a steering box. Leave the pickle fork for tie rod ends.
Old 08-02-2013, 11:10 PM

Originally Posted by JasonYota