Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Bracket lift with stock SR5 aluminum rims?

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2009, 05:16 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bracket lift with stock SR5 aluminum rims?

I am going to run 5.29's with ARB's front and rear on my 94 Ex-Cab and I am going to use the stock aluminum rims because I like them. I am planning lo pro bumpstops, balljoint spacers with lift cranked in (rancho torsion bars) and a 2" body lift. I know I am in for fender trimming and hammering the seam flat. I have a line on a used trailmaster bracket lift, and a used Jack-It bracket lift....are they even necessary or worth it, or will I be good with the 4 to 5 inches of lift from the BL and BJ spacers? I would love to see a pic of anyone with this combo.
Old 07-04-2009, 06:53 PM

i would just use the bracket lift up front and springs in the back
Old 07-05-2009, 12:41 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Personally, I would not use BJ spacers for any sort of lift, but rather for more travel.

One thing you have to look for with BJ spacers is that the tire or rim will not rub on the upper control arm once installed. Bracket lifts like the Trailmaster kit are also likely to cause issues with rubbing.

You might be able to visualize what I mean, with regards to rubbing with a bracket lift, from the following pic of a ProComp lift with 3.75" backspaced rims. BJ spacers will also have a similar issue since they also push the knuckle down and put the tire close to the control arm.

Stock rims would be almost 3/4" closer to the control arms than what you see in the picture.