86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Best way to lift a lifted truck to work on it

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2012, 07:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Best way to lift a lifted truck to work on it

I have some work planned for my 3" lifted 87 4runner sr5. I'm a noob to trucks but not a noob to cars and turbos. Gonna do brakes, struts, steering, bushings, etc. Do I need to buy a jack for this, all of mine don't even touch the front subframe unless I used a large brick or wood or something. What's the best way to just get the front into the air with normal jacks then set it on jack stands so I can work on it safely? Is the truck normally supposed to come with an OE jack, I don't see one.
Old 09-21-2012, 08:15 PM

Floor jack usually works for me, lift it under the arms (close to the wheel as you can get in the front one side at a time if you have to, rear you gotta have some pretty big meats to not get to the axle, I am nowhere near maxing out even my little bottle jack and I'm on 35's. Oh, and they're shocks, not struts for what it's worth.

Last edited by TrikeKid; 09-21-2012 at 08:17 PM.
Old 09-21-2012, 09:28 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I just use a floor jack on the pumpkin of the axle, then put 3 ton jack stands on the frame rails for the front use the ifs brace where the skid plate attaches

Last edited by MKtaco_98; 09-21-2012 at 09:29 PM.
Old 09-22-2012, 09:57 AM

like this:

edit: of course, adding jack stands underneath to actually work on it would be a requirement...

edit #2: yes, I was wearing a single flip flop when I took this picture...

Last edited by dcole; 09-22-2012 at 10:02 AM.
Old 09-22-2012, 04:47 PM