Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

bad A/C compressor?

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2006, 01:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy bad A/C compressor?

Hey everyone-

So this weekend I was headed out on a road-trip, running the AC (which has been fine ever since I owned this truck) when after a while we noticed that the air coming out of the vents was no longer cooled. Also the little green light on the A/C button wasn't lit up any longer. I then noticed a strange sound coming from the engine compartment, kinda like a 'grinding' sound. Everything else seems fine, the truck runs well, jsut the grinding noise and no AC? I'm guessing the compressor is shot but I'm far from a mechanic.

BTW this is on a '94 4Runner with the 3.0 v-6

Any ideas, suggestions or insight would be greatly apprecieated!

TIA.

Last edited by Blisster; 08-14-2006 at 01:26 PM.
Old 08-14-2006, 03:17 PM

sounds to me like a bad bearing in the compressor or if you lucky the compressor clutch assembly. It might have failed and is slipping as it trys to engage. good luck!
Old 08-14-2006, 03:46 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I got a compressor for sale, I believe it is a Denso model, I have'nt bother using it cause there were no belt on it so if you need it PM me.
Old 08-21-2006, 03:08 PM

my ac works fine when it's on but when it is off the clutch spins very slowly and makes a grinding noise like there is friction going on. you say if your lucky a bad bearing in the compressor? what does this entail?
Old 08-21-2006, 07:33 PM

My compresser just blew up a couple weeks ago.

It was never really "cold" but it made it ok, i suppose.

I was driving on the highway, in high heat, and smoke just started pouring out from the hood, and the smell was awful.

I opened the hood and the smoke was pouring out of the compressor/clutch area.

After that, I could run the blower, but if I pushed the little ac button, I'd hear that grinding noise you're talking about.