Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

'95 4Runner on Death Bed

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2007, 05:15 AM
Contributing Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
'95 4Runner on Death Bed

I took the '95 to a mechanic to have him drop the tranny, install a new rear main seal which had been leaking, and put a new clutch, throwout and pilot bearing in. I went in to get the flywheel from him and get it refaced and he told me he needed to show me something.

We crawled under the car and he showed me the pilot shaft was badly worn, which means either a tranny rebuild or buying a used one (about $475 at the salvage) and the rear main wasn't leaking. It looks like either valve cover gaskets or head gaskets. And since I've been smelling anti-freeze for about 2 years and been trying to find the leaky hose....my bet is on leaky head gasket.

She's had 9 years with me and a quarter million miles. I'll probably buy a replacement tranny, button her back up, and drive her until I have everything saved up for a 1kzt diesel swap and a resto-mod on the old girl. I can't sell her...too sentimental and too great of a vehicle. And I'm just not in love with the new FJ or car payments.
Old 10-21-2007, 05:52 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lol......tears came to my eyes.
Old 10-21-2007, 09:22 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
at least those mechanics are nice enough to pull you in and show you whats up. here they scam the hell out of you..

yeah, i definately understand the sentimental value

quarter million =
Old 10-21-2007, 03:28 PM
Contributing Member

might have to sweet talk lady hayduke to let you borrow her runner the odd time! that diesel swap sounds like the way to go in the long run, keep us posted on your decision.

lee
Old 10-21-2007, 04:12 PM

Tranny

Originally Posted by gwhayduke