86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

91 pickup new door source?

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2015, 03:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
91 pickup new door source?

Just about to start tearing my truck apart for a rebuild and the doors are pretty well shot on the bottom. Gonna hafta replace them. I'm new to the game and lingo but I was told to chase CAPA parts. I can't find any doors with this stamp.

Anyone buy any doors from rockauto.com? If so are they good quality? Are there any other sources of good quality doors?

Called around to some junkyards and kind of afraid I'll end up with what I already have.

Thanks in advance!

EDIT: I should elaborate and say I was wondering if brand new non-CAPA doors are the same quality as original doors. Would I be better off hunting for an "original" door from a scrap yard out west that's out of the rust belt? (I live in WI...)

Last edited by duckhead; 06-09-2015 at 08:06 PM.
Old 06-10-2015, 12:30 AM

Received 99 Likes on 86 Posts
Red face

Show us some pictures!!

Shipping doors is going to be expensive.
Old 06-11-2015, 11:15 AM

Hey duckhead welcome to the forms. Regarding your question, when you view the door options that are available from rock auto, they should have a tag on them that indicates the quality such as these:

• CAPA CERTIFIED parts bear the seal of the Certified Automotive Parts Association guaranteeing fit and quality equal to original equipment. These parts may be required if your insurance company is paying for the repair.
  • ECONOMY are less expensive and may be less durable and/or a less-exact match for original equipment than other lines. When replacing symmetrical parts (like taillights or mirrors), we recommend replacing both sides to ensure they match (small differences in gloss or color compared to original may be noticeable if you replace only one side).