Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

88 22RE Will not stay running.

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2013, 09:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
88 22RE Will not stay running.

Hey guys, I'm new to YotaTech and these trucks in general. I've searched all over and can't seem to find an answer to a problem I'm having.

I recently picked up a 1988 Toyota pickup that needed a head gasket, timing set, and a few other things. I got it all put back together and sometimes it will start, run for a few seconds, then die. Sometimes I can keep it running (extremely roughly) by using the throttle, and I did have it running somewhat on starter fluid, and it would rev out smoothly then. That should throw up a red flag that I have a fuel issue, but everything I have tested seems alright.
I've double checked the mechanical timing and distributor position, checked for power at the injector plugs and tested the injectors themselves. I've turned the distributor and watched them shoot fuel out and have used a 9v battery to keep them open because I thought maybe they were clogged. The fuel pump is working and I have used the diagnostic box under the hood to jump the circuit, even though my Circuit Opening Relay seems to be working just fine, I can hear it clicking and I have taken it apart to make sure. I have tested the fuel pressure and it checks out good at 40psi. I have tested the AFM and manually opened the flapper to power the fuel pump.
My initial thought was that maybe the gas was bad from the truck sitting, so I siphoned all of it out and put in a few fresh gallons.
Spark and compression seem fine as well. I'm usually not one to throw in the towel on an issue, but this one has me stumped. At this point, I'm thinking the ECU has some sort of fault. I took the casing apart and visually inspected it, and everything looked fine.