Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

88 22re running rough and throwing codes 25 and 26

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2016, 03:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 88 22re running rough and throwing codes 25 and 26

hello, this is my first time posting a thread in the forum but i have used it many times and it is a great help, however i can't seem to find any threads with the same issues I'm have with my 22re at the moment. my truck was running great and then i had to replace the starter, battery, and clean all the connections for them. it ran fine for awhile after that but then started to run rough, when i tried to give it more throttle it wouldn't excelerate and the engine seemed to be hesitant and stumbling. the problem went away after about 10 miles the check engine light went off and it was back to normal. i checked the codes and it was throwing both codes 25 and 26. i left the battery unplugged and the codes went away but after running the truck for awhile the light came back on and the truck wasn't running right again but this time was throwing code 52. it also went away and the truck ran fine again for awhile. the guy at the auto parts store gave me the wrong sized battery so i put the right one in this morning and it has been running rough with no power again and throwing codes 25 and 26 again also. I've done some tests but can't seem to find what might be causing the problem. has anyone else had an issue like this? or has any good ideas on what to check next? please help!
Old 11-01-2016, 12:34 PM
osv

Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts
battery size won't have any effect on the code problem.

did you clean all of the ground points? i think that there are at least three ground wires on these trucks, i'd make sure that they are all there.
Old 11-01-2016, 01:47 PM