86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

4WD seems to be binding?

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2007, 06:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
4WD seems to be binding?

so i fixxed all my brakes and other little problems on my 87 4 runner turbo! like timing chain and turbo rebuild!

so i went to throw it into 4wd and wow pulls super hard to the right over 15 mph and won't roll down a hill like the brakes are on

so i take i have some binding problems?

any help here i'm new to 4x4 trucks!
Old 11-02-2007, 06:36 PM
CJM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Were you offroad on onroad? On road your not supposed to drive with it on!
Old 11-02-2007, 06:40 PM
Donny, you're out of your element
Staff

Received 54 Likes on 34 Posts
Even if you had it in 4wd on road, it would not act like that. I would be checking gear ratios, perhaps someone in the past has swapped them out, and they are mismatched. That would cause the very problem you are describing.

Does it only do it in 4wd, or all the time? If all the time, you likely put something in/on wrong when doing the brakes.
Old 11-02-2007, 06:56 PM

um, do you have it in 4lo or 4hi ?

oh, and you can drive on the street in 4hi, not 4lo, just keep it under 50mph(that's what the manufacturer says anyway) I don't personally do it as I deem it usless, and would probably be more wear and tear than I care for, and it's just probably not a good idea if you don't have to

one of my idiot friends had mommy and daddy buy him a new tacoma a few years back, and he used to put it in 4hi when it was raining (I live around seattle)

your gear ratios (front and rear) are possibly mismatched (like previously stated) do you have anyway of contacting the previous owner? he might have forgotten to mention a few things, locker maybe?